Department of Electrical Engineering ,   University of Moratuwa
Old News, Views and Announcements : January - December 2005
2009 2008 2007 2006 December, November, October, September, August, July, June, May, April, March, February, January, 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998

December 2005

114.   Supplication for General Convocation      Posted: 29/12/2005
graduateNotice of Supplication First degree and Notice of Supplication postgraduate degrees/diplomasfor the General Convocation 2006 to be held on 15th March 2006 has been published. The closing date for supplications is 06 January 2006. The supplication fee for the first degree is Rs 650/- while for postgraduate degrees is Rs 850/-. [Supplication fee for degrees in absentia is Rs 200/-]
Supplication forms are included with the respective supplication notice.
The original of the form for the first degrees is on white paper and for postgraduate degrees on yellow paper. It would be preferable to take printouts in the correct colour for easy identification at the examination division. Official forms can be obtained from the SAR/Examinations.
113.   Long Service Award - Electrical Engineering      Posted: 29/12/2005
Among those to receive the Long Service Award at the ceremony to be held on 2nd Janury 2006, is Prof J R Lucas for completing 35 years of continuous and meritorius service to the University.
Prof Rohan Lucas joined the staff as a iLecturer in Electrical Engineering on 13 March 1970 and left for higher studies at Manchester, UK in 1971. On returning with his PhD in 1974, he was made an Assistant Lecturer in Electrical Engineering. Since then he has risen through the ranks of Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, Associate Professor and Professor to reach that of Senior Professor.
112.   New Year Greetings and Blessings       Posted: 29/12/2005
The first working day of the New Year (2nd January 2006) would be commenced, as has been the tradition in the recent past, with the recital of Seth Pirith at 0815 hrs at the Budu Madura, followed by a multi-religious ceremony in the James George Hall commencing at 0900 hrs. [Lighting of the oil lamp, Buddhist blessings, Hindu blessings, Christian blessings, Muslim blessings] This would be followed by the award of medals for long service of the staff.
The Vice-Chancellor has invited all staff to be present at the above ceremonies and to join in partaking of kiribath and other traditional foods thereafter at the Gymnasium.
Extracted from the letter of the Vice Chancellor on the above subject dated 23 December 2005
111.   IESL gears up for the Centenary in 2006
         Posted: 29/12/2005
The Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka is on the eve of celebrating its Birth Centenary. From humble beginnings almost hundred years ago in our ancient kingdom of Anuradhapura, IESL has transformed itself today to become the apex body of engineering in the country. What was first formed by nineteen senior government officers, fourteen of whom were engineers, in Anuradhapura, as the Engineering Association of Sri Lanka in 1906 has evolved to become the oldest Engineering Instituion in the Whole of Asia. Centenary celebrations will commence on 6th January 2006.
Extracted from the Sri Lanka Engineering News, 12 December 2005
110.   Madam Vishaka heads Computer Science & Engineering Department
         Posted: 28/12/2005
Madam Vishaka Nanayakkara has been appointed as actomg Head, Department of Computer Science and Engineering by the Vice Chancellor to succeed Dr Sanath Jayasena who stepped down due to other committments. Our Best Wishes go to her in her new your congratulations
109.   Minimum "Z" Score for selection from April 2005 A/L
         Posted: 28/12/2005
The UGC has released the Minimum "Z" Score for selection to the various courses of study in respect of each district today. The University of Moratuwa intends to have the inauguration for the students who have been selected for the BSc Engineering course towards the end of January 2006.
A comparison of "Z" scores for 2005/06 is also available on our web site. The corresponding "Z scores" for the previous intakes 2004/05 and 2003/04 are also available on our site.
108.   SpeakOlympiad - 2005 : Finalists
The preliminaries of the "SpeakOlympiad - 2005" organized by the Gavel Club of the University Of Moratuwa, an affiliate of Toastmasters International was held on the 22nd of December, 2005. Twenty eight (28) participants took part and the best five (5) were selected for the finals.
M. H. V. Dulini Yasara MudunkotuweLevel 1
Gayan GunawardeneLevel 3
J. M. Madusha Tharaka JayasingheLevel 2
Aravinda DassanayakaLevel 1
Asitha SenanayakeLevel 1
The finals will be held on the 29th of December, 2005 at the Textile Auditorium commencing at 3.30 p.m.
This news item has been submitted by Melinda Yasaranji
107.   Wishes for the New Year 2006
While remembering the victims of the 26th December 2004 Tsunami, on its first anniversary, let us join hands to wish a healthy and prosperous future for everyone in the coming year 2006.
106.   Electrical Engineering conducts presentation for First Year students
The Department of electrical engineering held a one-and-half hour presentation for Level 1 students about to finish their first year of studies giving them information about the electrical engineering field, to help them in their field selection. Among the speakers were
105.   Hiranya to leave for higher studies in Manitobaf
Hiranya Suriyarachchi who has been serving as a probationary lecturer for quite some time, has secured funding to do postgraduate studies at the University of Manitoba in Canada. He will be undertaking research in appied electromagnetics under the direction of Professor Ciric.
104.   SpeakOlympiad - 2005 organised by the Gavel Club of the University of Moratuwa
The Gavel Club (an affiliate of Toastmasters International) of the University of Moratuwa has organised the SpeakOlympiad 2005. The Gavel Club was established earlier this year for the main purpose of improving the communication and leadership skills of our undergraduates.
The SpeakOlympiad 2005 is an intra-university speech contest which will include the following events. This news item has been supplied by Melinda Yasaranji (Level 3 Electrical, and Vice President Education of the Gavel Club)
103.   Manamperi Memorial Award 2005
The project "Design and construction of a constant voltage transformer" submitted by the following group of electrical engineering undergraduate students and supervised by Prof J R Lucas, Prof H Y R Perera and Mr Kosala Gunawardena (Lanka Transformers Ltd) has been selected as the winner of the Manamperi Memorial Award - 2005 by the Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science. The award will be made on Monday 12th December at the BMICH.