Sri Lanka Public & Bank Holidays - 2006

The following are Public & Bank Holidays for the year 2006 as published in the Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka on May 25, 2005

Date DayHoliday Description
11 January Wednesday Id-Ul-Alha (Hadji Festival Day)
13 January Friday Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day
14 January Saturday Tamil Thai Pongal Day
04 February Saturday  National Day
12 February Sunday Navam Full Moon Poya Day
26 February Sunday Mahasivarathri Day
14 March Tuesday Medin Full Moon Poya Day
11 April Tuesday Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet's Birthday)
13 April Thursday Bak Full Moon Poya Day
13 April Thursday Day prior to Sinhala &Tamil New Year
14 April Friday Sinhala & Tamil New Year Day
14 April Friday Good Friday
01 May Monday May Day
12 May Friday Wesak Full Moon Poya Day
13 May Saturday Day following Wesak Poya Day
11 June Sunday Poson Full Moon Poya Day
10 July Monday Esala Full Moon Poya Day
09 August Wednesday Nikini Full Moon Poya Day
07 September Thursday Binara Full Moon Poya Day
06 October Friday Vap Full Moon Poya Day
21 October Saturday Deepavali Festival Day
24 October Tuesday Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramazan Festival Day)
05 November Sunday Il Full Moon Poya Day
04 December Monday Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day
25 December Monday Christmas Day
31 December Sunday Id-Ul-Alha (Hadji Festival Day)

JRL/27 July 2004